Library Card Policy

Your free Library card allows you access to a wealth of services at the Fitchburg Public Library. You can borrow books, magazines, CDs, videos, DVDs, jigsaw puzzles, and art prints from the library.  You can also use your adult card to borrow museum passes and, if you live in Fitchburg, tools, a telescope, and a bicycle. Your card also can be used to download e-books, magazines, audios, and videos onto your computer or mobile device. You also need a card to use the library computers. 
 A valid card from any CW/MARS library will work here in Fitchburg.

You MUST have your Library Card to borrow materials or use the library computers

to ensure accuracy in all transactions, and to protect your account. You may present either your physical card, or a digital version on your smartphone using the CW MARS app (iOS | Android) or apps like StoCard.

Lost your card? You can replace it for $2.

Requirements for Obtaining a Library Card

ALL library card applications require a picture ID showing your name and proof of current address. If your photo ID does not have your current address, you must bring in a piece of recent mail with your name and address on it, and postmarked within 30 days. (The sticker on the back of your license is not enough.) If you do not have proof of your current address, we can mail you a postcard which you can then bring in with your ID.

Any Massachusetts resident can obtain a card free of charge.

Children age 5+ must apply with a parent or guardian. If you are a student who does not have a picture ID, a parent or guardian must be present when you apply.

College Students must present their student ID, proof of their permanent address and also their school address.

Out-of-State Resident

Out-of-state residents must pay a yearly $35 fee, unless you can provide documentation demonstrating that you own property in Massachusetts, or rent lodging in Massachusetts for at least 30 days, or reside in Massachusetts while attending school, a training program, or summer camp lasting at least 30 days. A person who lives out-of-state, but works in Fitchburg, may present a current pay stub and pay a $10 fee. If a parent pays the out-of-state fee, then his or her children may receive their own library cards free.

Additional Information

Checkout limits and Loan Periods

There are no fines for overdue books, cds, dvds, audiobooks, and magazines borrowed from the Fitchburg Public Library. Overdue art prints are fined at $1 per day. Museum passes not returned when due are fined up to $5 per day. Bicycles, WiFi hotspots, tools and the telescope are $5 per day.  Items borrowed from other libraries through the hold system or at those libraries may still have fines.

If you have a library card from another C/W MARS library, you may use it here in Fitchburg.